top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Facebook Login
      Site Registration Why to Join

Facebook Login
Site Registration
Print Preview

Can a bowler bowl a switch ball? Meaning, can a left hand bowler bowl right handed to a batsman?

+2 votes
24 views

In the current era of cricket, we see batsmen using switch hits to play a ball. That is, while playing a ball they change their batting side (left to right handed and vice versa) just before the ball comes to them. My question is, can a bowler bowl a switch ball? Meaning, can a left hand bowler bowl right handed to a batsman?

posted Jul 11, 2016 by Ati Kumar

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button Google+ Share Button LinkedIn Share Button Multiple Social Share Button

1 Answer

0 votes

This would be a No-Ball as dictated by Law 24 of the Laws of Cricket

The umpire shall ascertain whether the bowler intends to bowl right handed or left handed, over or round the wicket, and shall so inform the striker. It is unfair if the bowler fails to notify the umpire of a change in his mode of delivery. In this case the umpire shall call and signal No ball.

So the bowler has to tell the Umpire which arm they will use and which side of the wicket they will bowl from. The umpire then informs the batter. If the bowler wants to change the arm or side of the wicket they must inform the umpire first, who then relays this again to the batter.

answer Jul 13, 2016 by Shantanu Arora
Similar Questions
+1 vote

Field always set according to the batsman hand. Can a batsman change its hand before the bowler start bowling just to dodge the captain for setting the field?

+1 vote

Is a batsman out when the ball naturally turned back to his stumps , but ball first landed out of his crease?

Contact Us
+91 9880187415
sales@queryhome.net
support@queryhome.net
#470/147, 3rd Floor, 5th Main,
HSR Layout Sector 7,
Bangalore - 560102,
Karnataka INDIA.
QUERY HOME
...