top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Facebook Login
      Site Registration Why to Join

Facebook Login
Site Registration
Print Preview

Why are 5 runs awarded if the ball hits the helmet in Cricket?

+1 vote
33 views
posted Jul 17 by Reshmi S
Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button Google+ Share Button LinkedIn Share Button Multiple Social Share Button

1 Answer

0 votes

The ball has been obstructed so a penalty is given. 5 runs is between the 4 and 6 that can be awarded for reaching the boundary so 5 fits nicely as an "arbitrary" amount. Five penalty runs are awarded to the batting team (or to the batsman in some cases) if: The ball strikes a fielder's helmet when it is on the field but not being worn.

answer Jul 19 by Sumeet Vyas

Your answer

Preview

Privacy: Your email address will only be used for sending these notifications.
Anti-spam verification:
To avoid this verification in future, please log in or register.
Similar Questions
+1 vote

If the ball hits the arm protector that is touching the glove of the leading arm in question that is holding the bat, is the catch considered legal, and the batsman out?

Is Batsman is Out, If ball hits the arm protector that is touching the glove holding bat?

+1 vote

If a batsman get bowled on free hit and ball goes to boundary, will four runs be added or not? Is there any rule about this?

Contact Us
+91 9880187415
sales@queryhome.net
support@queryhome.net
#280, 3rd floor, 5th Main
6th Sector, HSR Layout
Bangalore-560102
Karnataka INDIA.
QUERY HOME
...