top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Facebook Login
      Site Registration Why to Join

Facebook Login
Site Registration
Print Preview

Is player is dismissal by hit wicket ?

+3 votes
19 views

A batsman's bat breaks while hitting the ball after which a piece of the bat flies in the air, hits the stumps and the bails fall down.
Is there any rule for it?

posted Jun 21, 2016 by Deepak Jangid

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button Google+ Share Button LinkedIn Share Button Multiple Social Share Button

1 Answer

+1 vote

Yes, the batsman is out.

Refer first to Law 35 (Hit Wicket)

Out Hit wicket
(a) The striker is out Hit wicket if, after the bowler has entered his delivery stride and while the ball is in play, his wicket is put down either by the striker’s bat or by his person as described in Law 28.1(a)(ii) and (iii) (Wicket put down).
We need to check Law 28 to check the exact details of what constitutes 'Wicket put down'

Wicket put down
(a) The wicket is put down if a bail is completely removed from the top of the stumps, or a stump is struck out of the ground,

(i) by the ball,
or (ii) by the striker’s bat if he is holding it or by any part of his bat that he is holding,
or (iii) notwithstanding the provisions of Law 6.8(a), by the striker’s bat in falling if he has let go of it, or by any part of his bat becoming detached
That last line "or by any part of his bat becoming detached" covers the situation in the question. The batsmen is out.

answer Jun 22, 2016 by Vrije Mani Upadhyay
Similar Questions
+1 vote

Why Stump out is wicket for bowler, then why Run out is not wicket to bowler? In both cases, Batsman should be in crease.

+1 vote

When bowler is bowling over the wicket and ball pitches out side off and is hitting the stumps, the LBW is given.

But when bowler is bowling around the wicket and ball pitches out side of leg but hitting the stumps then why LBW is not given.

Can any body tell me logic behind this rule?

+1 vote

Who is out in the following scenario.

The batsman runs, while his partner doesn't. Both batsmen end up at the non-striker end, and a fielder hits the stumps at this end. Then the non-striker leaves the crease, and runs to the striker end. No fielder hits the stump at the striker end?

What will be the result of this?

Contact Us
+91 9880187415
sales@queryhome.net
support@queryhome.net
#470/147, 3rd Floor, 5th Main,
HSR Layout Sector 7,
Bangalore - 560102,
Karnataka INDIA.
QUERY HOME
...