top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Facebook Login
      Site Registration Why to Join

Facebook Login
Site Registration
Print Preview

Cricket : Why stump out is wicket for bowler, then why run out is not wicket to bowler?

+1 vote
991 views

Why Stump out is wicket for bowler, then why Run out is not wicket to bowler? In both cases, Batsman should be in crease.

posted Jun 25, 2016 by Ritika Sharma

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button Google+ Share Button LinkedIn Share Button Multiple Social Share Button

1 Answer

+1 vote
 
Best answer

A stumping generally happens when the bowler has deceived the batsman with some combination of length, speed and/or spin and has enticed him to come out of his ground to play a shot - as such, it involves an amount of skill on the part of the bowler so they are credited with the wicket.

A run out means that the batsman has hit the ball and decided to run, but for whatever reason there wasn't actually a run there. The skill here comes from the fielders and whoever breaks the wicket, and no significant input from the bowler - as such, they're not credited with a wicket.

answer Sep 27, 2016 by Abhishek Maheshwari
Similar Questions
+1 vote

When bowler is bowling over the wicket and ball pitches out side off and is hitting the stumps, the LBW is given.

But when bowler is bowling around the wicket and ball pitches out side of leg but hitting the stumps then why LBW is not given.

Can any body tell me logic behind this rule?

Contact Us
+91 9880187415
sales@queryhome.net
support@queryhome.net
#280, 3rd floor, 5th Main
6th Sector, HSR Layout
Bangalore-560102
Karnataka INDIA.
QUERY HOME
...