top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Facebook Login
      Site Registration Why to Join

Facebook Login
Site Registration
Print Preview

Does this count as a successful basket?

+1 vote
13 views

What happens when a player bounce-pass the ball into the basket, like in a circus shot? Does this count as a successful basket

posted Jun 20, 2016 by Deepika Jain

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button Google+ Share Button LinkedIn Share Button Multiple Social Share Button

1 Answer

0 votes

Yes, a bounce that goes into the basket would count as a successful goal. Anytime (except on a throw-in) a live ball goes through the basket, it is a goal, and it doesn't matter who, if anyone, threw the ball.

From the NCAA Men's Basketball 2013-14 and 2014-15 Rules, Rule 5 (Scoring and Timing Regulations), Section 1, Article 2:

Art. 2. A goal is made when:

a. A live ball that is not a throw-in enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through the basket; or

b. A free throw enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through the basket.

After a player bounces the ball, the ball is still live, meaning that any player could theoretically grab the ball and continue playing. So if the ball goes in the basket, the goal would count.

Kicking the ball in, even if it is easier for you, is not allowed (NCAA Rule 9, Section 7; NBA Rule 10, Section 4).

answer Sep 16, 2016 by Diya Borda
Contact Us
+91 9880187415
sales@queryhome.net
support@queryhome.net
#280, 3rd floor, 5th Main
6th Sector, HSR Layout
Bangalore-560102
Karnataka INDIA.
QUERY HOME
...