top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Facebook Login
      Site Registration Why to Join

Facebook Login
Site Registration
Print Preview

What happens in a penalty shoot out if the ball goes outside the area, then into the goal?

+1 vote
posted Jul 17 by Reshmi S

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button Google+ Share Button LinkedIn Share Button Multiple Social Share Button

1 Answer

0 votes

Unless otherwise stated, the relevant Laws of the Game and International F.A. Board Decisions apply when kicks from the penalty mark are being taken. This means that, since no other description is given, Law 14 (governing Penalty Kicks during the game) applies to this situation, with the exception of the placement of extra players.

A goal is awarded if, before passing between the goalposts and under the crossbar the ball touches either or both of the goalposts and/or the crossbar and/or the goalkeeper. The referee decides when a penalty kick has been completed.

So, in the situation you describe the ball hits the goalpost/crossbar, hits the ground and then goes back into the goal. This would be a goal unless the referee had decided that the kick was completed. If the ball had landed all the way outside the penalty area (very unlikely), it's possible the referee would have blown the ball dead since it was so far from the goal. But if he hadn't, it's a goal.

answer Jul 19 by Chetan Hindu
Contact Us
+91 9880187415
#280, 3rd floor, 5th Main
6th Sector, HSR Layout
Karnataka INDIA.