top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Facebook Login
      Site Registration Why to Join

Facebook Login
Site Registration
Print Preview

Cricket : What happens if the fielder fails to walk in from outside the boundary ropes when the ball is delivered?

+1 vote
32 views
posted Jun 9, 2016 by Abhishek Maheshwari

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button Google+ Share Button LinkedIn Share Button Multiple Social Share Button

1 Answer

0 votes

No. The reasons for a no ball are listed in Law 24 (and the subsidiary bits mentioned in Law 24.9) and do not include "fielder not in the field of play".

In theory, Law 2, Section 6 says that:

If a player comes on to the field of play [without permission of the umpires] and comes into contact with the ball while it is in play,
the ball shall immediately become dead and the umpire shall award 5 penalty runs to the batting side.

However, it's clearly not the intent of this law to be applied to players who were signing autographs at the boundary between balls, even if they didn't quite make it back onto the field by the time the ball was bowled.

So I think the simple answer here is: nothing happens.

answer Jun 10, 2016 by Deepak Jangid
Similar Questions
+1 vote

If a fielder touches the boundary or steps outside the boundary but comes back inside the field of play when he actually fields the ball, will a boundary be awarded to the batting team?

+1 vote

There are times when the third umpire is unable to come to a firm conclusion about a decision, even after the use of multiple replays.
What should happen in this case?

+1 vote

If a batsman get bowled on free hit and ball goes to boundary, will four runs be added or not? Is there any rule about this?

Contact Us
+91 9880187415
sales@queryhome.net
support@queryhome.net
#470/147, 3rd Floor, 5th Main,
HSR Layout Sector 7,
Bangalore - 560102,
Karnataka INDIA.
QUERY HOME
...